## **Indian Battles**

The following table explains the major wars fought on Indian territory -

War	Fought between	Time		
Battle of the Ten Kings	King Sudas of Trustu-Bharata Trib defeated Ten Kings	14 BCE		
Battle of the Hydaspes	Between King Porus and Alexander	326 BCE		
Conquest of the Nanda Empire	Between Chandragupta Maurya and Dhana Nanda	321-320 BCE		
Seleucid-Mauryan war	Between Chandragupta Maurya and Seleucus	303 BCE		
Kalinga War	Between Ashoka and Rani Padmavati	262 BCE		
Common Era(CE)				
Huna Invasion	Between Huna and Gupta empire	458 CE		
Battle of Pullalur	Between the Chalukya king Pulakesin II and the Pallava king Mahendravarman I	618–619 CE		
Battle of Vatapi	Between the Pallavas and Chalukyas	642 CE		
Battle of Rajasthan	A series of battles fought between the Umayyad and later the Abbasid caliphates, and kings to the east of the Indus river	712-740 CE		
Battle of Peshawar	Mahmud of Ghazni defeated Jayapala	1000 CE		
First Battle of Tarain	Prithvi Raj Chauhan defeated Muhammad Ghori	1191 CE		
Second Battle of Tarain	Muhammad Ghori defeated Prithvi Raj Chauhan	1192 CE		

Battle of Chandawar	Muhammad Ghori defeated Jaichandra	1194 CE
First Battle of Panipat	Babur defeated Ibrahim Lodhi	1526 CE
Battle of Khanwa	Mughal Emperor Babur defeated Rana Sanga of Mewar	1527 CE
Battle of Chanderi	Babur defeated Medini Rai of Chanderi	1528 CE
Battle of Ghagra or Gogara	Babur defeated Afghans	1529 CE
Battle of Chausa	Shershah Suri defeated Mughal Emperor Humayun	1539 CE
Battle of kanauj or Billgram	Shershah Suri defeated Mughal Emperor Humayun	1540 CE
Second Battle of Panipat	Akbar defeated Hemu	1556 CE
Battle of Bannihatti or Tallikota	Deccan sultanates defeated the Vijayanagara Empire	1565 CE
Battle of Haldighati	Mughal Emperor's forces led by Man Singh I defeated Maharana Pratap	1576 CE
Battle of Kartarpur	Between Mughal Emperor Shaha Jahan and Sikh led by Guru Hargobind Singh	1635 CE
Battle of Samugarh	Between Dara Shikoh (the eldest son of Shah Jahan) and his two younger brothers Aurangzeb and Murad Baksh (third and fourth sons of the Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan)	1658 CE
Battle of Kolhapur	Shivaji defeated Adilshahi forces	1659 CE
Battle of Purandar	Mughal forces defeated Shivaji	1665 CE
Battle of Sinhagad	Between Mughal Empire and Maratha Empire	1670 CE
Battle of Bhupalgarh	Mughal forces defeated Shivaji	1679 CE

The Marathas defeated the Nizam	1728 CE
Malharrao Holkar (Maratha leader) defeated Jai Singh (Rajput ruler)	1733 CE
Maratha defeated the Mughals	1737 CE
Maratha defeated Portuguese	1939 CE
Between Nawab of Bengal and Maratha	1742 CE
Between Nawab of Bengal and Maratha	1745 CE
Between British and French forces	1746-1748 CE
British forces defeated French forces	1749-1754 CE
British forces defeated Nawab Siraj ud- Daulah of Bengal	1757 CE
Between British and French forces	1760 CE
The King of Afghanistan, Ahmad Shah Abdali defeated the Maratha Empire	1761 CE
Between the British East India Company led by Hector Munro and the combined army of Mir Qasim, the Nawab of Bengal; the Nawab of Awadh; and the Mughal King Shah Alam II	1764 CE
Between the Sultanate of Mysore and the East India Company	1767–1769 CE
Between Shuja-ud-Daula, Nawab of Awadh and the Rohillas	1773-1774 CE
Between the British East India Company and Maratha Empire	1775-1782 CE
Between the Kingdom of Mysore and the British East India Company	1780–1784 CE
	Malharrao Holkar (Maratha leader) defeated Jai Singh (Rajput ruler)Maratha defeated the MughalsMaratha defeated PortugueseBetween Nawab of Bengal and MarathaBetween Nawab of Bengal and MarathaBetween Nawab of Bengal and MarathaBetween British and French forcesBritish forces defeated French forcesBritish forces defeated Nawab Siraj ud- Daulah of BengalBetween British and French forcesThe King of Afghanistan, Ahmad Shah Abdali defeated the Maratha EmpireBetween the British East India Company led by Hector Munro and the combined army of Mir Qasim, the Nawab of Bengal; the Nawab of Awadh; and the Mughal King Shah Alam IIBetween the Sultanate of Mysore and the East India Company and Maratha EmpireBetween the British East India Company led by Hector Munro and the Combined army of Mir Qasim, the Nawab of Bengal; the Nawab of Awadh; and the Mughal King Shah Alam IIBetween the Sultanate of Mysore and the East India Company and Maratha EmpireBetween the British East India Company and Maratha EmpireBetween the British East India Company and Maratha Empire

Third Anglo–Mysore War	Between the Kingdom of Mysore and the East India Company	1790–1792 CE
Fourth Anglo–Mysore War	Between the Kingdom of Mysore and the British East India Company	1798–1799 CE
Second Anglo-Maratha War	Between the British East India Company and the Maratha Empire	1803–1805 CE
Third Anglo-Maratha War	Between the British East India Company and the Maratha Empire	1817–1818 CE
First Anglo-Sikh War	Between the Sikh Empire and the East India Company	1845-1846 CE
Second Anglo-Sikh War	Between the Sikh Empire and the British East India Company	1848-1849 CE
Bhutan War	Between Bhutan and British East India Company	1865 CE
Third Anglo-Afghan War	Between British India and Afghan	1919 CE
Battle of Imphal	Between British India (Allied forces) and Japan Emperor	1944 CE