GOVERNORS-GENERAL AND VICEROYS OF INDIA

List of Governors-General of Bengal

Year	Governor-General of Bengal	Major Reforms & Events
1772- 1785	Warren Hastings	First Governor-General of Bengal End to the dual system of administration
		Regulating Act of 1773
		Supreme Court at Calcutta
		Asiatic Society of Bengal
		First Anglo-Maratha War and Treaty of Salbai
		First English translation of Bhagavad Gita
		Pitt's India Act-1784
1786- 1793	Lord Cornwallis	Establishment of Appellate courts and lower grade courts Establishment of Sanskrit college
		Third Anglo-Mysore War and Treaty of Seringapatam
		Introduction of Permanent Settlement and civil services
1793- 1798	Sir John Shore	Charter act of 1793 Policy of Non-intervention
		Battle of Kharda
1798- 1805	Lord Wellesley	Introduction of Subsidiary Alliance System Fourth Anglo- Mysore war and the Treaty of Bassein
		Second Anglo – Maratha war
		Establishment of Madras presidency
		Establishing Fort William College at Calcutta
1805- 1807	Sir George Barlow	The Acting Governor-General of India until the arrival of Lord Minto, Diminished the area of British territory because of his passion for economy and retrenchment,
		The Mutiny of Vellore took place in 1806
1807- 1813	Lord Minto I	Concluded the treaty of Amritsar with Maharaja Ranjit Singh in 1809, Introduced the Charter Act of 1813
1813- 1823	Lord Hastings	The policy of Non-intervention came to an end third Anglo-Maratha war
		Abolition of Peshwaship
		Establishment of the Ryotwari System in Madras (By Thomas Munroe) and Bombay
		Mahalwari system in north-western Provinces and Bombay
1823- 1828	Lord Amherst	The annexation of Assam leading to the first Burmese war of 1824, The mutiny of Barrackpore in 1824

Governors-General of India

Year	Governors-General of India	Major Reforms
1828- 1835	Lord William Bentinck	First Governor-General of India (Charter Act of 1833 made Governor-General of Bengal as Governor-General of India.) Abolition of Sati
		Suppression of Thugee, infanticide and child sacrifices.
		English Education Act of 1835
		Medical College and Hospital, Kolkata
1835- 1836	Lord Charles Metcalfe	'Liberator of the Indian press detached all restraints on an open press
1836- 1842	Lord Auckland	Dedicated himself to the improvement of native schools and the expansion of the commercial industry of India The first Anglo-Afghan war
1842- 1844	Lord Ellenborough	Sindh was annexed
1844- 1848	Lord Hardinge I	First Anglo Sikh War (1845-46)
	Lord Dalhousie (Governors-General of India)	introduced 'Doctrine of Lapse' Doctrine of Good
		Charles Wood Dispatch
		Post Office Act, 1854
		1st Railway line connecting Bombay and Thane
		Established engineering college in Roorkee
		Second Anglo-Sikh War
		First telegraph line
		Establishment of the Public Works Department
		Abolition of titles and pensions.
		Started Competitive examination for Indian Civil Services
		Widow Remarriage Act
1856- 1857	Lord Canning	Three universities at Calcutta, Madras and Bombay in 1857 were established Revolt of 1857 took place
		Note – Post-1857 Revolt, Governor-General of India was made Viceroy of British India and Canning became the first Viceroy of India/British India.

Viceroys in India from 1858 to 1947

Viceroy	Tenure	Achievement
Lord Canning	1858-	Abolished doctrine of lapse
T I Til-!	1862	WILLIAM
Lord Elgin	1862 – 1863	Wahabi Movement
Lord	1864 –	Establishment of High court in Calcutta, Madras during his
Lawrence	1869	reign.
		Anglo-Bhutanese war
Lord Mayo	1869 – 1872	Financial Distribution between centre and state introduced for
	10/2	the first time
		• First Census in 1872
		Mayo College for the royal elite was set up
		 Lord Mayo was the only Governor-General who was killed in India. He was killed by Sher Ali Afridi in Port Blair
		Establishment of Statistical Survey of India
Lord	1872 –	Civil Marriage and Arya Samaj marriage introduced
Northbrook	1876	Universal Marriage Act introduced in 1872
		Intercaste Marriage allowed
		Kuka Movement in Punjab
Lord Lytton	1876 –	Vernacular Press Act, 1878
	1880	• Arms Act, 1878
		 Nationalist view – Due to High rate of taxation purchasing power had reduced.
		 Government view – Drought is natural phenomena due to which people became poor
		• Ignored severe famine and organized durbar. Proclaimed Queen Victoria "The Empress of India"
		Abolished tax on cotton for British traders
		 Maximum age to take up civil services exam lowered from 21 to 19
Lord Ripon	1880 –	Was the most loved Governor-General
	1884	Repealed the controversial Arms and Vernacular press act
		 Set up Local self-governments – Panchayats and Municipal Boards due to which he was known as Father of Self Government
		• 2 new universities opened – Punjab University 1884, Allahabad University 1887
		Illbert Bill – Indian judge cannot try English Judge
		Appointment of Hunter Commission
Lord Dufferin	1884 – 1888	• III AngloBurmese war (18851886)

		Indian National Congress was founded in 1885
Lord Lansdowne	1888 – 1894	 Indian Councils Act, 1892 (Indirect election was introduced for the first time)
		• Factory Act, 1891
Lord Elgin II	1894 –	First British Officer called Rands was killed.
	1899	 He was killed by Chapekar (Ramkrishna & Damodar) Brothers. This was the first political murder.
Lord Curzon	1899 – 1905	Indian Universities act – to control Indian Universities
		Raleigh Commission
		Partition of Bengal
		Curzon-Kitchener controversy
Lord Minto II	1905 – 1910	Morley – Minto reforms
Lord Hardinge	nge 1910 – 1916	Mesopotamian Campaign
II		Transfer of Capital from Calcutta to Delhi
		Hindu Mahasabha was established by Madan Mohan Malaviya
Lord Chelmsford	1916 – 1921	Home Rule League Movements
Cheimstora		Rowlatt Act was passed
		Montague – Chelmsford reform was passed
Lord Reading	1921 – 1926	Swaraj Party was formed
		Chauri – Chaura incident took place
Lord Irwin	1926 –	Launch of civil disobedience movement and Dandi march
	1931	First round table conference was held
Lord	1931 –	Second & Third Round Table Conference
Willingdon	1936	Poona pact was signed
		Communal award was started
Lord	1936 –	Cripps Mission
Linlithgow	1944	Quit India movement
Lord Wavell		CR Formula 1944
	1947	Launch of Direct Action day
		Wavell Plan & Shimla conference
Lord	1947-48	June 3rd Plan
Mountbatten		Last Viceroy and First Governor-General of free India