Socio-Religious Reform Movements and Reformers in India

Rahanumai Mazdayasanan Sabha

Dadabhai Naoroji along with his Western educated, progressive Parsis like Sorabjee Bengali, JB Wacha, KR Cama, Naoroji Furdonji etc, founded Rahanumai Mazdayasanan Sabha or religious reform association in 1851 with the objective of social regeneration of Parsis, removal of the purdah system, raising the age of marriage, education of women.

Shah Walliullah

He started **Wahabi Movement.** It was a revivalist movement with slogan to return to pure Islam. Jihad was declared with the prime objective of converting **Dar-UL-Harb** (land of infidels) into **Dar-UL-Islam** (land of Islam).

Haji Shariat Ullah

He founded an orthodox Islamic Movement, i.e. **Farazi Movement**. He called for a return to Faraid (the obligatory duties of Islam) like names, Zakat, Haj, fasting in Ramzan etc. In 1804, Haji Shariat Ullah began to preach his doctrine by attacking the superstitions and corruptions of the Islamic society. Gradually, the movement gained political shape, when he declared the country under British occupation to be far-UL-job.'

Sir Syed Ahmed Khan

He started the **Aligarh Movement** to modernise Indian Muslims. He founded the Aligarh School in 1875, which was upgraded as Mohammodan-Anglo Oriental College, which became nucleus for the formation of Aligarh Muslim University in 1920. He stressed the need for Hindu-Muslim unity. Sir Syed Ahmad started a journal named tahzib-al-Akhlaq in 1870.

Mohammad Qasim Nanantavi and Rashid Ahmad Gangohi

They started the **Deoband Movement** at Deoband, Saharanpur in 1866 with two main objectives- (i) popularizing the teaching of the Kuran and Hadith and (ii) To initiate Jihad against foreign rule. They did not support Western education and culture. They advocated the unity of all religions.

Balak Singh

He started the **Namdhari Movement** in 1857 who advocated the forbidden of learning English and taking up a Government job.

Thakur Singh Sandhawalia and Giani Gian Singh

They founded **Singh Sabha** in 1875 in Amritsar with two main objectives (a) to bring to Sikh community the benefits of Western enlightenment through Western education; (b) To counter Hindu and Christian Missionaries that were influencing the Sikh community.

Jyotirao Phule

He established **Satyashodhak Samaj** on 24 September 1873 to liberate the Shundra and Untouchable castes from exploitation and oppression. He also challenges the superiority and domination complex of Brahmans.

EV Ramaswami Naicker

He started the **Self-respect Movement**, which was popularly known as Periyar. He vehemently supported the Harijans and became a hero of Satyagraha at Vaikom, Kerala, started his paper, Kudi Arasu in 1925 and turned into a radical social reformer. Self respect league was merged with Justice Party in 1944 to from Dravida Kazhagam.

TK Madhavan, K Kellapan and Keshava Menon

Vaikom Satyagraha (Kerala, 1924-25) was led by TK Madhavan, K Kellapan and Keshava Menon. It was the first organised temple entry movement of the depressed classes. They asserted along Gandhian lines the right of Ezhavas and other untouchables to use the road near Travancore temple.